Education and research in agriculture started in Dharwad with the establishment of College of Agriculture in 1947. The college was established by the Bombay State Government. The college came under the control of Mysore state in the year 1956, when states were reorganized. It became the constituent college of University of Agricultural Sciences Bangalore in the year 1965 and later came under the purview of University of Agricultural Sciences Dharwad in the year 1986.

The University of Agricultural Sciences Dharwad was thus established in the year 1986 to cater to the needs of the people of North Karnataka. It was carved out of the University of Agricultural Sciences Bangalore. The jurisdiction of the university was spread across all the districts of north Karnataka.

The University of Agricultural Sciences Raichur was established in the year 2008 to cater to the districts of Hyderabad - Karnataka region. The jurisdiction of the university at Dharwad was thus reduced to districts of north western Karnataka.


The university has jurisdiction over colleges in Dharwad, Gadag, Haveri, Bijapur, Bagalkot, Belgaum and Karwar (Uttar Kannada). There are 4 colleges under the purview of this university.

Research Stations

The research need of the farmers is taken care through 25 Agricultural Research Stations which have been established at different centres throughout the region.

University Location

The complete address of Agricultural University at Dharwad is given below.

University Website

The university has its own website which contains detailed information about the university. A brief introduction to the university is provided in UAS, Dharwad - At A Glance.

Visit the website of Agricultural University Dharwad and get the latest updates.