The university was initially established at Mumbai in the year 1949 and was shifted to Dharwad in the same year. It was officially inaugurated in the year 1950. The jurisdiction of the university was spread across all the districts of north Karnataka.

The Gulbarga University was created out of this university in the year 1980. This was done to cater to the needs of the Hyderabad - Karnatak region. The jurisdiction of Karnatak University was thus reduced to districts of north western Karnataka.

Recently, another university has been created at Belgaum, thus further reducing the jurisdiction of Karnatak University.


The university has jurisdiction over colleges in Dharwad, Gadag, Haveri, Bijapur, Bagalkot, Belgaum and Karwar (Uttar Kannada).

Constituent Colleges

There are 5 constituent college in Karnatak University.

Affiliated Colleges

The university website contains the list of affiliated colleges. The list is categorized based on district.

Post-Graduate Centres

The university has post-graduate centres located at Karwar, Bijapur and Haveri.

The Karwar P. G. Centre was established in the year 1975 and Bijapur P. G. Centre in the year 1993.

University Location

The complete address of Karnatak University at Dharwad is given below.

University Website

The university has its own website which contains detailed information about the university. List of all the colleges affiliated to this university is provided.

Visit the website of Karnatak University Dharwad and get the latest updates.