VTU was established in the year 1998. Prior to the establishment of VTU, engineering colleges in Karnataka were affiliated to regional universities. Each university had its own syllabus. The teaching procedure and examination pattern was different in each university. Under VTU, every college has the same syllabus. A total of 186 engineering colleges are affiliated to this university.


Courses offered by VTU include under-graduate engineering degree in the following disciplines.

Post-graduate courses like M. Tech and MBA are also offered by the colleges affiliated to the university.


The syllabus of all the courses offered by VTU is uploaded on the university website. Students can utilize this section of the website to understand the course contents.

Examination time table is uploaded for the benefit of students. The examination schedule is published based on the semester and scheme.

Results of examination conducted by VTU are announced and published on the results website.

University Location

The complete address of VTU at Belgaum is given below.

University Website

The university has its own website which contains detailed information about the university.

Visit the website of Visvesvaraya Technological University and get the latest updates.